enquiries(at)theyair.co.uk | 07725 943343

About The Yair Estate

A rich Scottish heritage

The Yair’s history as we know it, began fittingly in 1156 when King Malcolm allowed the monks of Kelso to build a dam on the River Tweed, creating a pool for fishing; a sport that the estate is still renowned for today.

An elegant and traditional Scottish country estate, The Yair perches regally on the banks of the River Tweed in the heart of the Scottish Borders, amid ancient woodland and rolling hills. The estate consists of Yair House, three charming holiday cottages and a further seven working properties, a beautiful walled garden, mature woodland and a small pheasant shoot. Not forgetting the historic Yair Bridge, which lies 600 metres downstream from the main house.


Yair House itself is the focal point of the estate and enjoys a rich heritage, with both Yair House and Yair Bridge dating back to the 18th century. The house was built by Alexander Pringle of Whytbank in 1788, and designed by William Elliot, a Kelso-based architect who also designed The Haining in Selkirk, for another member of the Pringle family.

Yair Bridge was constructed earlier, around 1764, and designed by the Edinburgh architect William Mylne. Today, the three-arch stone bridge remains part of the estate and carries the A707 across the River Tweed.

Although the house was built in 1788, the land and estate had been Pringle family property since the 16th century. The estates, including Whytbank Tower, were sold off to repay debts in the early 18th century. After Alexander Pringle made his fortune in India, he returned, re-purchased the family property and proceeded to build The Yair as we know it.

The Yair was purchased by the Thyne Family in 1940 and is lovingly owned and run by the family today.

© The Yair | Site design by Hillside Creative